Developing the skills necessary for a NightOpper

Exchange the techniques and skills needed to walk the shadows. Post your guides and how-tos here.
Illusion

Developing the skills necessary for a NightOpper

Post by Illusion » Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:12 am

Its been a long night and I've re-read this a few times, but my concentration is lacking slightly! If theres any errors I apologise and I'll clean up soon!

There are several key skills which are necessary for one to succeed at Urban Exploration in the night; In this (short) document I aim to provide a form introduction to these skills and how the complete novice can develop them.

It is stupid to believe that one can immediately adopt the correct mindset. The key is to make small, but fast progressing, steps.

This isn't meant to be a manual for operations, far from it. Its meant to be a few ideas for developing the basic skills, and getting used to the environment. I don't go really touch on how to gain entry to buildings, or what to do when you're in - thats for a completely different topic. The closest I get to that is a brief section on carrying out a recce.

Phase 1 - "Getting your Night Eyes"
Believe it or not, the night is simply the day but without light. Nowadays, there are less differences than ever. With 24 hour shops, and "cities that never sleep". The night isn't even clearly defined; midnight is 12, but 11pm is still the evening for most, and most people refer to 1am as "One in the morning". Where is the night? Night is merely a concept we are brought up to believe in; an invention of society.

However, the first time you find yourself out - alone, perhaps in fields, at night can be pretty bewildering. So here's how I recommend you take your first footsteps.