Moonlight ops

Exchange the techniques and skills needed to walk the shadows. Post your guides and how-tos here.
NewbieNinja

Moonlight ops

Post by NewbieNinja » Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:41 pm

Short version: Any tips for opping on a moonlit night?

TL;DR warning
Last night, I decided train nops. I went to an area I frequent on the edge of town.
Last night was my first time opping on a moonlit night. I hadn't gone opping for a while cuz of personal reasons which I might discuss in another thread.

The moon was nearly full and everything was bright! This is my first time opping with the moon lighting up the whole place. I found it to be way harder....

I was wearing black for this training op. Unless I was next to a deep shadow, I just felt like I stuck out real bad.
I used the bent knee walk and tried going as fast as I could from shadow to shadow.

Then I got to an area with shorter brushes. These brushes didn't have leaves and the moon was pretty much at apex, killing almost all shadows.

I wasn't sure what to do.... I tried sitting in the brushed curled up to distort my silhouette.
It was then... I wished I had camo....

With camo, I might have been able to hide in those brushes. I might have been able to crawl through the open areas....

I'm kinda bummed. I dropped a bunch of $$ for black gear and now it looks like I gotta do the same for camo.
Black is also my favorite color and tends to be cheaper/ more available. Which makes me even more sad...

Do u guys have any tips for opping on a bright moonlit night?

CookieThief

Re: Moonlight ops

Post by CookieThief » Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:04 am

Think of it as the in between of Day and Night ops. I would practice hiding your shadow and silhouette by moonlight.

Read this http://nightops.net/doc/mov_stealth/The ... bility.txt
The world is dark until your eyes adjust.

Psychlonic

Post by Psychlonic » Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:20 am