Knocking out electrical power

Exchange the techniques and skills needed to walk the shadows. Post your guides and how-tos here.
NINJAHAMMER

Knocking out electrical power

Post by NINJAHAMMER » Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:25 am

Thought I would brain storm and pick your brains for ideas on knocking out a home or business electrical power. Just a quick disclaimer here . . . I'm not an electrician , haven't tried these ideas and electricity can shock, burn or kill you. That being said, I'm interested in methods, tools and tactics for cutting the power of a home, business, room, city etc. Now I know that cutting the power to a building will not disable the alarm system as most alarm systems have a battery backup that will keep the alarm functioning for hours or days and the act of cutting the power may cause the security system to send an alarm all by itself. However, cutting the electricity can cause lighting to go out, elevators to stop, key card doors to unlock for emergency egress, and so on. I've researched some power company catalogs that have tools for cutting power lines and sometimes the power line can be accessed if you can gain access to the roof of the building in question - do be careful of the line and where it will hang, swing after cutting for it may touch, land on your ladder, car, slow moving partner , home owner's dog. But cutting power lines leaves a trace - soooooo, perhaps a broken tree branch tossed onto the wire (please don't keep hold of the branch as it touches the wire). Or, put a metal tent peg into the ground, wrap a copper wire / carbon fiber wire to the tent peg and then throw, propel (arrow, crossbow, etc) the wire over the powerline so that the copper / carbon wire makes contact with the overhead power line (perhaps standing to close to the tent peg / copper wire is a poor idea). The U.S. military used carbon fiber chafe dropped from planes to take out Bosnian power stations. I have found carbon fiber wire for sale on the net and it may be easi